Eroding Puzzle: Life Metaphor

Saturday, October 11th, 2014

     I’ve been working on designing this spatial reasoning puzzle.

spatialreasoning

     The puzzle pieces rotate and fit together in a bunch of different ways, forming one or more whole shapes in a number of configurations.

     So, I left the puzzle alone for a couple of days and worked on other things.  Last night, I was having a night alone in my sock-monkey onesie and thinking about ways that my life (events or the whole) could be reflected as a puzzle.

     First of all, what happens after the “win state” of a game?  The Stanley Parable (Davey Wreden and William Pugh, 2013) had me thinking of ways to make a game that is a game, but that has no conclusion.  Conclusions are so Disney.  Life doesn’t stop when you succeed at something.  It’s way more complicated than that.

     So, what if the puzzle changed the longer you played it?  What if the more you try to force the pieces together, the less likely they are to fit together at all?  (memories, relationships, etc?)

     My spatial reasoning puzzle now randomly erodes the longer you play it.  At first, a variety of possibilities.  At last, a narrow set of limitations.  Right now time is what erodes the game state, but I want other inputs to change it as well.

spatialreasoningeroded

 

     I don’t know if want to implement a win state.  I kinda like that you just push the pieces around into some configuration that you find aesthetically pleasing and then enjoy it before it erodes.

3 comments on “Eroding Puzzle: Life Metaphor

  1. cergat says:

    Reblogged this on Guerrilla Concepts and commented:
    This is fantastic. Kind of like the maze game that Schizonar had in mind.

    Like

  2. Annie says:

    I love this and I want to play it. Can you send it to me? Is that how it works?

    Like

    • John Luna says:

      Hmmm…. I may eventually release this as a playable thing, but for now it was an experiment that I never really loved. I’ll keep you updated if it ever sees the virtual light of day.

      Like

Leave a Reply

